List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination tournament for men’s college basketball teams from America.

It decides the winner of Division I, the top level of play in the NCAA, and the press often describes the winner as the national winner of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament has been held annually since 1939, and its own field grew from eight teams at the beginning to sixty-five teams by 2001; as of 2011, sixty-eight teams get involved in the tournament. Teams can obtain invitations by winning a conference tournament or getting an at-large bidding from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of this tournament are called the Final Four and so are held in a different city each year, alongside the championship match; Indianapolis, the city where the NCAA is based, will host the Final Four years before 2040. Each winning university receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made from wood.
The initial NCAA Tournament was organized by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural championship, beating Ohio State 46–33 from the first championship match. Before the 1941 tournament, command of this occasion was provided to the NCAA. From the first years of this championship, it had been considered less important than the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based occasion ] Teams were able to compete in both events in the exact same calendar year, and three of those that did thus –Utah at 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) at 1950–won the NCAA Tournament. The 1949–50 CCNY team won both championships (beating Bradley in both finals), and is the only school basketball team to accomplish this feat. [14] From the mid-1950s, the NCAA Tournament became the more prestigious of the two events, and in 1971 the NCAA barred universities from playing in other championships, such as the NIT, when they were invited to the NCAA Tournament. The 2013 championship won by Louisville was the first men’s basketball national title to ever be vacated by the NCAA following the school and its coach at the moment, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) was the most prosperous college from the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of those championships came during a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the successive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky has the second-most titles, together with eight. North Carolina is next with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow with five each. Virginia is the latest winner, having defeated Texas Tech in the closing of the 2019 tournament. Among head coaches, John Wooden is the one time leader with 10 championships; he coached UCLA during their period of succeeding from the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second all-time with five titles.

Read more:



Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *